Preparation

What is life but a time of preparation?  A preparation for what?  For eternity.

We need to live now in such a manner that will prepare us for an eternity with God.  That includes but is not limited to medical decisions.

I have a will.  I have a living will.  I have given my husband my health directives.  My kids know what I want and do not want when it comes to extreme measures.

There is someone I know (not a family member) who has cancer.  This person has been “left to dangle, to endure, to wait…was [this person] even worthy of such a glorious gift? Time will tell.”  In watching and reading about this person’s struggle and pain, I have come to understand the notion of an illness being a “gift”.  This person would probably not elect to receive chemotherapy were it offered.  This person would live out God’s will.

Along this line I offer to you two blogs to read, both have a perspective on eternity in their recent posts that I respect deeply.  They are Glory to God for All Things by Fr. Stephen Freeman and Occasional Musings written by my Uncle Curmudge.

I hope to keep Fr. Stephen’s words on eternity close to my heart and teach my kids and grandkids (should I be so blessed) about them.  I have and will continue to emulate Uncle Curmudge’s wisdom in dealing with end of life decisions.  Why?  Because I want to relieve my children, grandchildren  and my husband (should I pass first) from having the burden of making these decisions at a time when I want them to be able receive and give comfort, as well as grieve.

I do not believe this is being morose or morbid.  I do believe it is being like the 5 virgins who had oil in their lamps in order to be prepared for the coming of our Lord.

Are you preparing for eternity?

5 thoughts on “Preparation

  1. These kinds of thoughts occur more frequently as we age. It’s a normal thing, and not morbid at all, as you know. They will slowly take up more and more of your thoughts as time passes, and you will welcome them as long-lost friends.

  2. Amen, Amen, and Amen. I think about this kind of thing a great deal, having passed the age of 60 a few years ago. Some time ago, my former spiritual father made the point that we spend so much time preparing and planning for things that may or may not take place, but almost no time at all on preparing for the one thing we can be certain will take place: our own passage into eternal life.

    I also do not believe in putting poison into my body — impoverishing my family — forcing them to live with false hope that can only be dashed in the end — for just a few more years of this life. I’ll take reasonable care of my health, but it is NOT my god.

    By the way, how’s Father Seraphim?

  3. Lord have Mercy. I need to focus more on eternity myself.

    If my Dh were to be incapacitated, my Heath Care POA is an Orthodox friend. I chose her because 1) she and I have similar views on end of life issues 2) My kids know and trust her and 3) she knows when and how to call an Orthodox Priest.

  4. I really appreciate your remarks. Of course your Uncle Curmudge is 84 with an Aortic Valve that is closing off. Both Aunt Betty and I have (had) living wills. When she was diagnosed with leukemia she was made comfortable and many of us were there when that great heart beat its last beat.

  5. We have “Advanced Directives,” but I hear they can be overridden.

    As for preparing for eternity, I should probably be praying right now!

Comments are closed.