Being “Crafty”

Here are a couple of projects I started working on post-graduation.

This first one will eventually be a baby blanket, the last of 3.  It is for my son’s best friend and his wife.  I chose the popcorn stitch in baby green and white.  There will be three green stripes of the same width and two stripes of white of the same width.  I am pleased with how nicely it is turning out.

Blanket 1

Blanket 2

This photo is of the beginning crosstitch work on the white winding cloth my parish uses on the Cross at Easter.  The design will be in the shape of a big “C”, the bottom of which will be small pink flowers, and the back will be Irises in two shades of purple.  The pattern will then be repeated on the opposing side of the cloth in a backwards “C” so the openings of the design will face each other.  The finished design will measure 7 inches wide by 9 inches high.  I will keep posting photos as I progress.  It will keep me moving to get the project done before Easter!

Crosstitch

7 thoughts on “Being “Crafty”

  1. Phillipa, You have inherited the talents of both Grandmoms and Aunti B. They created beautiful things just as you are doing. Things that can be treasured for a lifetime. Thank you so much for sharing

  2. Annie, I never did learn to knit. Like you, I just knitted too tightly and eventually gave up. I crochet very tightly also, but the more I do, the less I continue to do that. I, too, stayed away from crosstitch for a very long time due to not being able to see the work, but my new reading glasses have helped that enormously. It feels good to do so.

    Mrs. Mutton, I will submit a photo to the Needlework group. Thanks for the reminder!

    Thank you all for your kind comments! It is fun to share!

  3. Good for you! Both of these are looking lovely, but I’m especially excited to see the winding-sheet taking shape. Hope you will submit photos to the Needleworkers group!

  4. Beautiful work, Philippa. It’s a wonderful and quiet handwork, conducive to inner peace and contemplation. I am so glad you have and utilize this skill.

  5. I never did learn to knit. I kept getting the stiched so tight I couldn’t get a knitting kneedle throught the stitches. I did like to cross stitch though, before my poor vision made it more of a chore than a pleasure. I do look forward to seeing the progress.

  6. Very nice. I never did learn to knit, although I tried. I do cross stich, but poor vision has kept me from enjoying it at all lately. Your’s looks very good.

Comments are closed.