15 Books

The rules:  Don’t take too long to think about it. Fifteen books you’ve read that will always stick with you. First fifteen you can recall in no more than 15 minutes.   This list is in no particular order.

  1. Little Women by Louisa May Alcott
  2. The Way of the Pilgrim
  3. The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett
  4. The Man in the Iron Mask by Alexander Dumas
  5. A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens
  6. A Star Called Henry by Roddy Doyle
  7. King Arthur
  8. Father Arseny, 1893-1973: Priest, Prisoner, Spiritual Father Compiled by the Servant of God Alexander Concerning His Spiritual Father
  9. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
  10. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn by Betty Smith
  11. The Giving Tree by Shel Silverstein
  12. Thirsting for God in a Land of Shallow Wells by Matthew Gallatin
  13. The Deryni Series by Katherine Kurtz
  14. The Trial and Death of Socrates by Plato
  15. How Long, O Lord?: Reflections on Suffering and Evil by D. A. Carson
4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Philippa
    Jul 07, 2009 @ 02:23:15

    Mother, no I do not keep a formal list of books I’ve read; however, I just started a list at goodreads.com because I am curious to see how many books I read in a year.

    James, that is a wonderful idea…compile a list of favorite parent books. I will blog about that and seek input!

  2. jamesthethickheaded
    Jul 07, 2009 @ 02:19:21

    Isn’t the challenge to update the list? Seems like we struggle to fairly rank what we read way back when against what we more easily recall… from yesterday. And yet I”m betting you’ve kept better records.

    What I like about your list more than anything… is it seems unabashedly honest… and non-PC . Some real classics from back when they made classics… but also not static.

    I don’t wonder we couldn’t put together a great list of parents favorite books they read to their kids, or shared with their kids, or had passed along to them from their parents / grand parents, etc.

  3. Mom
    Jul 06, 2009 @ 17:58:24

    I am amazed at how you remember all the books you read and their authors. I also read some of those on your list and remember how I enjoyed them but don’t ask me about what I read. I remember reading Gone With The Wind and Hawaii,and loving what I read at the time I read it. I really love to read , especially at night. It helps to relax my mind and body getting me ready for sleep. Do you keep a list of all the book you read?

  4. Mimi
    Jul 02, 2009 @ 20:08:12

    I love this list, for many reasons (like how fabulous “A Tree Grows in Brooklyn” is) but mostly because it acknowledges how words and books touch us.

    Awesome!

