A weekend in Boston

The hubster had a business trip this weekend which included hosting a Muhlenberg College Alumni Event at Fenway.  Rather than leave his lovely wife, that would be me, at home, he invited her (that would be me again!) to go along.  YAY!

We drove up Friday after sleeping in late, which was a lovely treat for me since I had not slept well the entire week prior.  After checking in and getting settled, we walked along Boyleston Street searching for a place to eat and landed at Whiskey’s.  After teasing the waitress because they did not serve hard liquor and the hubster could not get his bourbon, we settled on beer and order dinner.  I had the $10.95 special – a full lobster, drawn butter, french fries and homemade coleslaw!  Delicious!  We took a nice slow stroll afterwards so dinner would settle.

Saturday’s breakfast was al fresco and included homemade pancakes made from scratch!  Then we walked down Boyleston Street and up Newberry, peaking in all the little shops that had items we could not, nor wanted, to afford.  Though I did score a $10 Red Sox baseball cap!  We walked to Boston’s Public Garden, and viewed all the beautiful architechtural beauties on the way.  Trinity Church is just unbelievably beautiful.  After all the walking, we came back to the hotel so the hubster could ice his ankles.  Remember the tendon repair surgery two months ago that got infected?!  Yeah.  Physical therapy the last two weeks has been good, so the walking hasn’t been too bad except that the ankle gets tired quickly.  Thus the afternoon was spent napping, swimming and reading.

Dinner was at a lovely Italian place in the North End called Terramia.  And what trip to the North End would be complete without a stop at Mike’s Pastry where we came away with 1 chocolate mousse cannoli, 1 vanilla cannoli, 3 anise biscotti’s, and 3 orange chocolate shell sandwich cookies?  All for the lovely price of $9.00!  A steal as far as I am concerned.  The cannoli’s were…um…what can I say…beyond words.  YUM!

After another lazy morning and sleeping in, we grabbed a quick bite to eat and headed over to Fenway for the Alumni pre-game party at a bar/restaurant called Game On!  There the hubster donned his “Alumni Relations/Development” hat, meeting and greeting everyone, as well as ensuring they got munchies and soda.  I enjoyed talking with two alums, one of whom lives in our hometown and the other whose son is an incoming freshman this Fall semester.

We headed over to the game about 12:30 to find our seats way out in right field, but thank goodness under cover and out of the sun.  Though it was not blistering hot (only 82 F), it was huuuuummmiiidddd!  Ugh!  And since Fenway is so old, it is tight sitting.  At least there was a breeze every once in awhile.  The Sox lost to the Orioles 6-2.  Bummer.  Though I am no baseball afficionado, it seemed to me the guys were trying to whack the ball out of the stadium and failing.  So everything was getting caught in the outfield.  Nonetheless, a trip to Fenway is always fun.

Tomorrow we’ll be heading home at a leisurely pace.  Hopefully without rain to impede progress.  It’s always nice to get away.  It’s always nice to go home.

Pics will posted once I am home and can upload them from the home computer.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mrs. Mutton
    Jul 28, 2009 @ 12:59:37

    You’ve been in my turf and didn’t let me know?!?!?!

  2. s-p
    Jul 28, 2009 @ 04:53:25

    I visited my son in Boston 3 times while he was at Hellenic College. We did the tour of Fenway, Sam Adams Brewery and various historical sites. A nice place to visit but I wouldn’t want to live there.

  3. Suzanne
    Jul 27, 2009 @ 20:12:10

    What a wonderful weekend you’ve had! I’m SO glad for you! YAY! 🙂

  4. Mimi
    Jul 27, 2009 @ 18:25:45

    A trip to Fenway! That is SO awesome!

  5. jcurmudge
    Jul 27, 2009 @ 02:56:58

    When in Seminar (ANTS) I got to Fenway once in a while. And one Sunday I took leave of my congregation and went to a Quaker meeting in Cambridge and later the same morning to Worship at Trinity. It is lovely, and I truly enjoyed each service.

