Uneventful Weekend

Saturday was spent working on transcribing tapes till 4:00 p.m. while two loads of laundry got taken care of.  Then I took time to sweep the kitchen floor, run the vacuum and straighten up the house.  Off to Vespers at 5:00 p.m. then home again, home again jiggity jig.  A quick dinner out and then to the Select Comfort store to purchase a new bed, which will last 20 years.  The current one is on year number 12 or 14.  The quality of the product has improved significantly since we purchased ours.  I continue to be astonished at how expensive a mattress and foundation; whether traditional or not.

I also took a quick run through Barnes & Noble to use a couple gift cards that had remaining $$ on them.  I purchased two crosstitch magazines with adorable patterns.  My goodness, the quality of pattern designs  has surely improved since the last time I purchased one!  I crosstitch bug is biting me big time!!  Tra-la!

Today was spent at church.  Always a nice oxygen tank refill.  Then home where I had a quick bite of lunch then started working on some sewing for the church.

A very generous donor paid for new gold cloths for the church; 12 items total I think.  The leftover material was passed in my direction with a request for:

  • two bookmarks (one for the Gospel, one for the Service book)
  • two small ‘pouches’ for the sick call kit to fit in for when Father makes hospital calls and brings the Holy Mysteries (the current one he used was too small)
  • one cover for the chalice, paten, star and knives which reside on the Table of Oblation during the week.

I also received a couple of the old cloths which Father asked me to use to fashion a cover for the stand on which the visitor book sits in the Narthex.  So I spent the evening ripping them apart so they can be laundered and sewn together for the cover.  I also salvaged the ribbon and tassels for reuse.

Father and I like the idea of being ‘green’ by reusing the fabric which not only keeps the ‘history’ of the cloths but also allows them to continued to be put to good use.  We debated cleaning them and offering them to a mission parish but they were in such poor condition, I would be embarassed to pass them on.  The badly stained parts will be cut out and given to Father to burn.

In all, a very productive weekend.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mom
    Aug 04, 2009 @ 04:31:24

    You remind me so much of my sister.She did all that you are doing and then some. She even mended the priests clothing. Father Tim is very lucky to have you as I am sure he knows. I wish we lived closer so I could see all your handiwork. I’m sure the Dear Lord is smiling down on you for all your charitable work. God Bless You

  2. Mimi
    Aug 03, 2009 @ 18:47:53

    I love the reusing the fabric, and humbly request photos when you complete the projects!

  3. Suzanne
    Aug 03, 2009 @ 18:31:29

    Sounds like a wonderful weekend. 🙂

  4. Jim Taylor
    Aug 03, 2009 @ 15:54:15

    What would they do without you?

  5. elizabeth
    Aug 03, 2009 @ 13:56:00

    That’s great! Some parishioners at my church are doing simiilar work right now… It is good and worthy work.

  6. Ian
    Aug 03, 2009 @ 09:26:12

    “Uneventful”? I suppose in that it was pleasant, but it was certainly event-filled!

    If you can, I’d love to see photos of your cloth work, once done.

  7. Elizabeth
    Aug 03, 2009 @ 08:00:15

    Very industrious indeed, but it sounds like you had great fun too 🙂

