Progress

As promised, here is a photo of the wrapping cloth that I am crosstitching for our parish.  I am not wholly satisfied with it, thus am seeking some opinions.

As you can see, it is set off to the left.  What I am thinking is to continue the design by few more pink flowers on the right, taking it closer to the right edge.

What do you all think:  leave as is?  add more pink flowers?

I am pleased with how nicely it has turned out and with the colors.  The pattern calls for 6 Iris but I did only 3 because I liked the idea of a ‘trinity’ of Iris, as well as I did not like that the remaining Irises would continue the design into the “C” shape the pattern calls for.

This design will be duplicated on the other end of the cloth but as a mirror pattern.  The “open” portions of the design will be facing one another, giving the impression of “embracing” the cross.

DSCF0003

DSCF0001

Thank you to my friend Suzanna who sent me this wonderful link about Fleur-de-lis which is what the French call an Iris.  I did not realize it was an emblem for Mary!  Read about it here!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ian
    Sep 07, 2009 @ 02:51:15

    Personally, I think it is stunningly beautiful. Well done Philippa!

  2. elizabeth
    Sep 04, 2009 @ 23:40:53

    Lovely. A Cross could be nice too.

    I really like your work!

  3. Elizabeth
    Sep 04, 2009 @ 08:46:43

    Absolutely gorgeous !
    How long has it taken you so far ?

  4. Mom
    Sep 04, 2009 @ 00:48:49

    I AGREE WITH — MRS MUTTON ALTHOUGH AT THE VERY TOP OF THE FLOWERS A CROSS COULD BE APPROPRIATE

  5. Philippa
    Sep 03, 2009 @ 23:58:01

    Mrs. Mutton, no he has not said anything about a cross. I will take what I’ve gotten done so far to church Sunday and show him. Perhaps he will say something then.

    Thanks for the head’s up.

  6. Mrs. Mutton
    Sep 03, 2009 @ 22:56:04

    I think it is beautiful as is. Did your priest say anything about stitching a cross onto it? Most priests I know seem to feel that an embroidered cloth needs a cross on it.

