“Arise, let us go hence.”

I remember the first time I ‘forgot’ him.  It was the most horrible feeling.  It was well into the first year of life after my first husband’s death.  While settling in for the evening, I realized that I had not thought about him all day!  I was horrified!  How could I forget him?  With time, I realized I had not ‘forgotten’ anything but that my heart and soul were healing as they should have been.  I was continuing to ‘live’.

This point has not arrived regarding Mother.  Thoughts of her are never far from my daily thoughts.  Yesterday, with a large lump in my throat, I said to my mother-in-law via phone, “I miss your being here to celebrate Thanksgiving with us.  I am looking forward to seeing you Saturday.”  (Mom can no longer travel due to mobility issues.) 

All this, along with the thought that no one is in front of me anylonger, has brought to mind Jesus’ words in the Holy Gospel of Saint John, chapter 14: 1-2. 

Let not your heart be troubled: ye believe in God, believe also in me.  In my Father’s house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you.  And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again, and receive you unto myself; that where I am, there ye may be also.  And whither I go ye know, and the way ye know.

There is, of course, Someone in front of me.  It is Christ our Lord and Savior, Who has gone ahead and prepared the Way.  He promises in verses 16-19…

And I will pray the Father, and he shall give you another Comforter, that he may abide with you for ever;  Even the Spirit of truth; whom the world cannot receive, because it seeth him not, neither knoweth him: but ye know him; for he dwelleth with you, and shall be in you.  I will not leave you comfortless: I will come to you.  Yet a little while, and the world seeth me no more; but ye see me: because I live, ye shall live also.

And in verses 26-27… 

But the Comforter, which is the Holy Ghost, whom the Father will send in my name, he shall teach you all things, and bring all things to your remembrance, whatsoever I have said unto you. Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.

At the end of Chapter 14, Jesus said…

 “Arise, let us go hence.” 

The parent’s responsibility to teach and lead never ends, even when their children are adults.  They teach and lead by example.  Mother has done this.  Mother took these words to heart and obeyed. 

Thanks be and Glory to God!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Suzanna
    Dec 05, 2009 @ 14:11:10

    Hugs and prayers always.

  2. turtlemom3
    Nov 28, 2009 @ 23:54:27

    Darlin’, you KNOW my heart is with you. We had Thanksgiving dinner with my younger son. He and his lovely wife had gotten out my grandmother’s old china, my great-grandmother’s silver, and my mother’s crystal. As I sat there, eating off the china with the silverware, and drinking from the crystal, memories of all the holidays we had used them when I was a child and teen rose up before me, and I almost burst into tears. I told my son how much it meant to me, and he said he remembered as a child getting out all the china and crystal and silver for special dinners and that he wants his boys to have those kinds of memories, too.
    My Momma died from Rheumatoid Arthritis when I was 34 and she was only 59. I’m just glad she lived long enough to get to know my Ol’ Curmudgeon – and to know that I was safe and cared for. I was her only child, and that was a biggie for her.
    She set me such an example of how to live with RA. I hope I can set that kind of example for my children and grandchildren. I want to exemplar living my Orthodox Christian faith and values through difficulties and struggles as well as during happy times. I can only pray that they learn to lean on their Faith during their own struggles.
    God bless you, dear heart!

  3. Elizabeth
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 22:16:04

    My love to you and *hugs*

    Holidays are always hard when in grief from loss.

    Hang in there. Thank God we can still pray for all those who have gone before us.

  4. George Patsourakos
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 20:44:08

    We must pray to Jesus and thank Him every day for everything we have.

  5. debd
    Nov 27, 2009 @ 17:35:09

    I was thinking about you yesterday, my friend. These are good thoughts to remember when any of us feel’s alone.

