My thoughts condem me

Psalm 83:  1-2, 9-10, 13-17

Do not keep silent, O God!
Do not hold Your peace,
And do not be still, O God!
For behold, Your enemies make a tumult;

And those who hate You have lifted up their head.

Deal with them as with Midian,
As with Sisera,
As with Jabin at the Brook Kishon,
Who perished at En Dor,
Who became as refuse on the earth.

O my God, make them like the whirling dust,
Like the chaff before the wind!
As the fire burns the woods,
And as the flame sets the mountains on fire,
So pursue them with Your tempest,
And frighten them with Your storm.
Fill their faces with shame,
That they may seek Your name, O LORD.
Let them be confounded and dismayed forever;
Yes, let them be put to shame and perish,

And what am I thinking while chanting this Psalm at Bridegroom Matins last evening?

Yes, Lord!  Do this!  Smite my enemies and the enemies of those I love.  Smite them!

Can you spell P-H-A-R-I-S-E-E?

Kyrie Elesion!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Athanasia
    Apr 03, 2010 @ 04:12:38

    Margaret, thank you for what you’ve written. I’ve been thinking about that every time I’ve prayed the Psalms and it has been quite helpful! I am grateful.

  2. Mimi
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 21:02:01

    prayers and hugs indeed.

  3. Ian
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 19:24:17

    I was thinking during the Psalms “Should I shop tonight or before work tomorrow?” Lord, have mercy. No, Lord, I cannot even keep watch one hour.

    And I struggle as you do with forgiveness; as DebD wrote, easier to say than do. God bless you Philippa, for I believe God sees and recognises our intent, despite the difficulty of translating it to practice; and be assured of my prayers and love.

  4. Margaret
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 12:14:47

    But the enemies, the strangers who rise up against you, those who will perish, be put to shame, etc, are your own sins – keep that in mind and what you think is what you should think 🙂

  5. debd
    Mar 31, 2010 @ 01:57:40

    I find with experiences similar to yours that forgiveness is so much easier to talk about than to actually do. Prayers and hugs.

