Simple Woman’s Daybook: For Today

Outside my window it is dark for night is upon us. It remains hot, hot, hot. Today’s back porch shaded thermometer read a whopping 99.9 degrees F. It does say “July” on the calendar, doesn’t it?

I am thinking about the fact that shortly I will have my twiddle toes in beach sand and water! Bliss!

I am thankful for chiropractors. My visit today offered great hope for nerve pain relief in the left leg, which has not been forthcoming since March. He said, “Boy there sure is a lot of inflammation in there.” Yea, no kidding. Now I have a sacroiliac band to wear and it is already helping. Yay for chiropractors!

From the kitchen came the delicious smell of dinner cooked by Chef Hubster and fresh baked bread. Yum!

I am wearing my new blue summer robe. It is a shortie as opposed to floor length – too hot for summer. I like it a lot. Why I purchase a lot of blue clothing I surely don’t know. Purple is my favorite color and I rarely wear it.  Go figure.

I am creating a lot of ideas in my head but nothing tangible yet.

I am reading “The Cloister Walk” by Kathleen Norris, which was recommended by a friend.  I am only on page 22 and already I love it and this woman’s style of writing.  She has a gentle humor but poignant way with words.  One favorite so far is where she mentions a monk “…who complained to me about the resistance to change he’d encountered at work.”  He said…”It’s the well-worn idol named, ‘But we’ve never done it that way before!”  Exasperated, he’d said, “And people wonder how dogmas get started!”  Norris is a married Protestant woman who found herself drawn to the deeper spirituality and monasticism.  She became a Benedictine Oblate and remained deeply involved in her Protestant church.  I’m looking forward to getting further into her thoughts.

I am hoping for a halfway decent night’s sleep wearing my ‘band.’

I am hearing the whoosh of cool air through the duct work of the house and being thankful for it.

Here is picture for thought I am sharing:

Three generations: Bella and her mommy…wishing my mom could have known about her great-granddaughter Isabella…and realizing that though I cannot take her place, I represent her.  To God be the glory, great things He hath done!

5 thoughts on “Simple Woman’s Daybook: For Today

  1. I didn’t like The Cloister Walk when I read it, but I am reading a more recent book of hers called Acedia and Me: A Marriage, Monks, and a Writer’s Life which I am enjoying enough to think about trying to read The Cloister Walk again.

  2. Enjoy your beach vacation, and what a wonderful photo! Welcome to the world, Bella!
    I just read “The Cloister Walk” about a month ago.

  3. I didn’t really enjoy _The Cloistered Walk_ all that much. I wanted to though because I loved the whole idea and she sounds like a neat person. I’m glad you’re enjoying it.

    I hope you got that good night of sleep.

  4. Lovely photo.

    Will need to add “The Cloister Walk” to my ever-increasing must-read list.

    Hurrah for ideas , and prayers for good sleep and a good result from the band.

    From cool and rainy Sydney – ~54F. [cool for us! :D]

  5. beautiful picture!

    I love _The Cloister Walk_… K. Norris helped me a lot in my University years… she helped me untangle a lot of ideas that were false and introduced me to the desert fathers, some church fathers and this led me within a few years to Orthodoxy!

    With the humidex it was at least 111 degrees F today! ack!!!

    Have fun on the beach 🙂

Comments are closed.