One thing I learned recently…

…is that I can look at a severely dislocated and broken ankle and not throw up or pass out.

Yesterday my elderly friend called me to tell me she turned her ankle, thus would not be in church. I asked if she called one of her kids for help. She had not but intended to. Ten minutes later, once I arrived at church and told Father what was going on, I called her back. No answer. Uh oh. I left a message and told her to call me back if she could and that I was on my way to help her.

I walked in the door and found her lying on the floor unsuccessfully trying to put a bag of green beans on her ankle. One look at her ankle and my fingers automatically dialed 9-1-1.

“What’s the nature of your emergency?”

“Uh, my friend is lying on the floor with a broken ankle. Her left foot is sticking out at a 45 degree angle from her leg.”

“I see. Please don’t move her. An ambulance is on its way.”

In walks the EMTs, the first of whom said, “Ewwwww…that’s nasty!”

Uh, yeah, thank.you.very.much.

And so Sunday started.

Today my friend is in the hospital recovering from surgery where pins and screws are holding her ankle together. She will be released to rehab where she will remain for the next 8 weeks or so until she can walk again. She cannot go home because she lives alone and there are steps into her house and no bathroom on the first floor.

How did she do this? She thinks she turned her ankle over the side of her scuffy slippers coming down the steps for breakfast, but she’s not sure. Thanks be to God she didn’t fall down the steps and hit the heavy bench at the foot of them. She could have broken her neck!

Today she is back to her little-Italian-feisty-self!

And I learned to not throw up in the face of an emergency.

What have you learned recently?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mimi
    Feb 15, 2011 @ 20:06:32

    Thanks be to God you were there for her, she is blessed to know you (as we all are)
    Prayers for her healing.

  2. Elizabeth
    Feb 14, 2011 @ 21:30:47

    Lord have mercy! I am so glad she called you and that you were able to be there for her! not easy! Love to you this day!

