Loving Life

It is hard to believe that six weeks has gone by since my last post!  I’ve been having so much fun and am exhausted by the end of the day there has been no energy to blog about it all!  So let me take you on a whirlwind tour of the hot summer month of July!

Our DD got engaged over the 4th of July weekend.  Her long time boy friend had plans to pop the question during the fireworks but didn’t want to wait any longer so sprang the question on her two days early!  We were thrilled and celebrated with a dinner at their beach cottage where they were vacationing at the time.  It was an emotional and overwhelming time but we are very happy for them.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The hunt for the perfect wedding and reception location started and has already been secured.  The Hubster and I swallowed hard when we saw the estimate of cost.  I suggested to DD that perhaps she would like to fore-go the whole shebang, have a quiet wedding and we’ll give her a check close to the amount of the celebration.  She would have none of this, opting for the big party.  A deposit is holding the date of June 9, 2012 for the nuptials.  We’re going to rob a bank to pay for it!!  (I’m kidding!!)

Then came the wedding gown shopping trip.  DD knew exactly what she wanted and what her budget was.  She’s single minded like her mother!  LOL!  She found a gorgeous, simply elegant, long strapless gown with three foot train, all lace over light weight cotton, two inch satin sash with beaded front.  It is just perfect for her and accentuates her tiny waist.  (Sorry folks, pictures will have to wait till next year!)  Best of all it was on sale for $50 less than she had budgeted.

We’re going to make her veil and she’s going to carry silk flowers to save on costs.  She has already found a photographer and disc jockey at significant low cost.  She’s a girl after my own heart.  I guess I taught her well when it comes to thrifty shopping.  Now we’re taking a deep breath and resting since the big decision items are taken care of.

As I sat looking at DD’s reflection in the mirror as she twirled around, I thought how much my mother, mother-in-law  and aunt would have loved this time with us.  I wished they were there to help point the way for me to go.  I’ve never done this before and they had.  I had no “mom” to ask “What’s next?  How do I do this?”  It was emotionally exhausting and I confess to shedding more than a tear or two.

Along with all of that fun, my weeks of volunteering at kids’ art camps at a local small museum are completed.  I had a great time, though it was exhausting!  I’m not as young as I used to be I guess.  I learned a lot of neat teaching techniques, not to mention some cute little crafts.  The kids were so creative!  I wish I had thought to take pictures each week to share their creativity, but I only thought of it Thursday!  And so I leave you with the fruits of labor from the Carribbean Kowabunga Camp which are birds or sea creatures (imaginary or real) made from air-dry clay, painted and then glued to a piece of decorated cardboard.

One thought on “Loving Life

Comments are closed.