One Voice

Luke 10: 16-21

“The Lord said to his disciples, ‘He who hears you hears me, and he who rejects you rejects me, and he who rejects me rejects him who sent me.'”

*************

It always seems the case when my spiritual father says, “I’d like you to….” that I sigh heavily, wonder to what benefit, do it [whatever it is] and then marvel at the benefit.  You’d think I’d learn!

Thanks to a Facebook friend, I downloaded the “Daily Readings: Scripture, Saints, and Feasts” app on to my Andriod phone. It is provided by the Greek Orthodox Archdiocese of America .  This app has made reading “a couple of chapters of scripture a week” easy to do no matter whenever I remember to do so.  Of course, one must have the correct date set on the little calendar to get the correct scripture for the day; however, one is usually blessed no matter which passage is read.  Since I had the calendar set incorrectly, I read the passage for the 6th not the 8th.  Since God blesses even idiots like me, St. Luke had a word for me.

Word up!

The above passage from St. Luke’s Gospel kept bringing my eyes back even as I read to the end, especially the first six words the Lord spoke.  “He who hears you hears me….”  I have proudly puffed out my chest and pounded on it like a rejected Tarzan…”I’ve been rejected for Christ’s sake!  I took one for Him!”  I got that part down.  Yeah, right.  Meh.

But what about the “…hearing…” part?  Have I considered what words I speak in my voice?  Have I considered what tone those words carry?  Have I ever given it one single thought that as a Christian – a Christ follower – that my voice is His voice?  Do I speak with one voice – His?

Consider this.  God spoke and the world came into being.  When is a word formulated?  Not when it exits your mouth on your breath.  A word is formulated in the mind.  The seed of a word begins in the brain and once formulated and coupled with other words, then is translated into sound and exits your mouth carried by your breath.

Those word-seeds…are they His Voice?  Are they coupled and carried out on my breath with His Breath?  Mine are not.  No wonder I am rejected.  I speak in my voice, not His Voice.  My thoughts are not His Thoughts.

It is better to keep silent than to speak without care.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ian
    Sep 21, 2011 @ 21:54:58

    I have the app too: it is great.

    With Mimi, I thank you, and love the humor too: and I thank for your openness and willingness to share your own struggles: I too need to ‘hear’ the Word of God anew each time I read.

  2. Mimi
    Sep 13, 2011 @ 21:28:48

    I love reading your posts, for many reasons, but one is the humor that comes through. I am very thankful for you!

