One Of The Best Books…

…I’ve read in a very long time.

Doomsday Book by Connie Willis.  Winner of Hugo and Nebula Awards. And truly deserving of them, as far as I’m concerned.  Wow!!!! 

The year is 2054. The main character, Kivrin, a University history major, is studying the Middle Ages and all that goes along with that – illnesses included. What is unique about this story is Kivrin will study this period of history in person! Yup…time travel.

The story opens with Christmas carols being played over a carillion and annoying evryone. That, however is a minor irritation compared to what awaits everyone.  Though each chapters jump back and forth between 2054 and the 1300’s, it is done seamlessly.  Ms. Willis gently draws you into the story very subtly and before you know it, you are fully invested.  By the time I was halfway through the story, I couldn’t put it down.  The last ten chapters took me on an emotional rollercoaster ride which left me breathless by the end.  I went to bed thinking about Kivrin, the friends who loved her in 2054 and in the 1300’s.  

There are only a handful of books that grabbed like fhis one.  Read it. You will not be disappointed. I promise.

2 thoughts on “One Of The Best Books…

  1. I read one of her other books and like it very much. I think I’ve had this one on my TBR list since then…thanks for the little nudge.

Comments are closed.