Cooking, sewing and dogs

Today’s cooking accomplishment was homemade Manhatten Clam Chowder, a recipe I’ve not made in a long time. I had written on the recipe card “fantastic” and tasting it assured me of the correctness of that notation. Here’s the recipe, from “100 Recipes From PA Dietitians ” for any who are interested:

  • 2 (6 oz.) cans minced clams
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 1 (14 oz.) can diced tomatoes
  • 2 potatoes, peeled and chopped
  • 1/2 cups finely chopped carrots
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
  • Freshly ground pepper to taste

Drain clams, reserving liquid. Add enough water to reserved liquid to measure 3 cups. Combine clam juice and water mixture, undrained tomatoes, onion, potatoes, carrots, salt thyme and pepper in a large saucepan and mix well.  Cook covered, over medium heat for 30 to 35 minutes. Remove from heat. Mash veggies slightly to thicken the broth. Stir in clams and return to heat. Cook to heat through, stirring occasionally. Makes 6 servings.

Our house decorating continues. The Hubster painted the library/den ( formerly the dining room). It loks great and cozy. I made curtains for the windows, pulling up the wooden blinds until they were hidden behind the fabric, thus letting in lots of sunshine.

This evening was spent with the Hubster and I watching the Westminster Dog Show. It’s always fun to look at the different breeds deciding which we like and don’t like. But of course, our DivaDog is our best in breed!

Do you have a particular favorite breed?

 

3 thoughts on “Cooking, sewing and dogs

  1. I’m not particularly a dog person (I’m a cat person) but I’ve always though Scotties were cute.
    I admit, though, I though the last line asked my favorite bread. I’m not a dog person, but clearly I’m a carb person 🙂

  2. I like Border Collies and Shelties, myself, but my husband is NOT a dog person.

    Thanks for posting the recipe. Sadly, I can no longer tolerate clams, but Manhattan Clam Chowder used to be one of my favorites (don’t tell my New England friends). 😉

  3. We always liked Boxers, Aussies, Goldens and German Shepherds. But of course that is what we’ve always been around.

Comments are closed.