Menopause

 

 

A lot of women remember the day their “friend” arrived.
 
It was 6:00 p.m. Friday, September 29, 1972, the night of my hosting the very first girl/boy birthday party in the neighborhood which began at 7:00 p.m.  I was going to be 13 yrs. old in two days.  The basement was cleaned and decorated. The phonograph had records stacked next to it, ready to be played. Sodas and snacks were ready. I was wearing my very cool (and tight) bumblebee yellow top and purple cords which were a tad tight for some odd reason. The hair was perfectly coiffed. Make-up was on. I was as ready as I could be…until I used the bathroom before guests arrived.  
 
OMG!!!  “MOM!!!!” In she ran, smiled, handed me the necessities and said, “Well, you’re a woman now.”  Really?!? That’s all it took? Uh…I’d rather be a kid, thank.you.very.much!
 
Fast forward 30 years.  This month, April 2012, is one year since my “friend” stopped its monthly visit.  It is official…I am in menopause with all its glory.  
 
For the last 10 years I have had mood swings like a metronome.  The night sweats ended about 8 months ago. Now the laundry is far more manageable without twelve pair of pajamas to wash every other day.  The hot flashes continue. They were kinda nice during the winter. I liked having my own built in heater.  However, now that the temperature is climbing, I could do with an internal air conditioner! My hair is thinning. At least the perimenopausal acne is gone.  Some consolation.
 
When the “friend” arrived, I did not think about the fact that the ground was now fertile for children.  But with the “friend” gone, I am keenly aware that the fertile ground is no longer.  That made me a little sad for a short while, but that has passed. 
 
Too bad the hot flashes don’t come once a month for 5 days.
 
By the way, the birthday party was a huge hit! The bar had been set high and no one reached it in the subsequent months of birthday celebrations, or so some people said!
3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ian Climacus
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 23:08:33

    As a man all I can say is that women are stronger than any man I know. Prayers and love and thanks for the lessening of symptoms.

  2. Margaret Smythe
    Apr 23, 2012 @ 13:38:22

    Ahhhhh purple cords… I had them too but in the early 80s. As for the menarche, well, when it started I worried about getting all my hair in the mikveh (all of you has to go under in one go) and then before I ever had to go near one I became Orthodox but dragging baggage with me I have eschewed Communion because of it and now cannot wait for the three or four years till it goes and I don’t have to think about it anymore.

  3. Trackback: Orthodox Collective
