A year of over indulgence is having negative effects

As many of you may remember, about 6 years ago I was diagnosed with acid reflux and a myriad of food allergies. With a lot of hard work and being very strict with what I put in my mouth, I managed to get things under control with a lot of support from two doctors (allergist and family doctor).  A result of this was some much needed weight gain, a balanced internal system and, surprisingly, no more lactose-intolerance.  I was able to enjoy ice cream! The first time in 20+ years!

I was strict at home and just as much when out.  If I attended a dinner or professional event with The Hubster, I always asked what had soy or peanuts in it and would avoid it.  Though those dinner’s out were not very often.  Being so strict allowed me to have the occasional food item that had soy in it without any repercussions.
Since our relocation about 12 months ago, I have been less strict. A lot less strict.  There are many more professional events to attend, more alcohol at the events, and more meals out with friends.  The boardwalk treats have been consumed with more frequency.
Surprisingly, I am much less active – something I did not expect but should have anticipated because ‘the beach’ has always been a vacation place where I  put my feet up and relaxed.  Also, I am not involved in anything at church like I was in back home so am not out running around doing things.  The dog is 9 and has slowed down, so our walks are not as brisk.  And lastly, I am pushing 53 which is a factor.
All of these have contributed to more weight gain than is good for my body type and for my reflux issues.  Clothes are a bit snug around the waist, squeezing the stomach, forcing acid back up my throat.  Complex carbs are acidic and contribute to the weight gain. The cholesterol has gone up too.
However, there are things I like about my weight gain. Having a curvaceous figure is one, something I’ve never had before. I like the way I look and that is a nice thing. My face is fuller. My cheekbones are accentuated. People don’t look at me  with worry in their eyes and don’t say, ‘eat more!’
What’s to do? Well, at the top of the list is returning to the strict food list of okay foods and is an absolute must.  Eating smaller portions again.  Adding physical activity to the day.  I despise exercise, but I need to do it.  If I lose 7 pounds, that will make a significant difference to how I feel.  I know that does not sound like much, but to a person who has struggled to GAIN weight her entire life, LOSING weight is a new frontier.
Exercise isn’t a lot of fun because the ankles, toes, and knees hurt with a bit of arthritis.  I figure that carrying around less weight will help that.  If I can take a 30 minute brisk walk every day that will help too.
So here I go.  On a new adventure. I see my family doctor mid-September and I hope to have lost that weight by then.  I’ve been working on this for the last week and have seen no success.  Your prayers are coveted.
4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mrs. Mutton
    Aug 04, 2012 @ 06:09:47

    Wishing success to all who are hoping to get back into regular physical activity. I know that since the hysterectomy-from-hell six years ago, my physical condition has gone from not-that-great to horrible (not helped by a leg that got knocked out of whack ten years ago, and only diagnosed within the past two years). They tell me that walking does improve arthritis, but something I have found a lot more fun and a lot less stressful is tai chi, which is also supposed to be wonderful for arthritis. If you can find a class at a community center, that’s the best way to go, and there are also several books on the market about it. Some mornings I get up and can barely move, and after 15 minutes of tai chi, I’m much more fluid in my movements. *And* have begun losing weight – slowly, but it’s definitely coming off.

  2. Mimi
    Aug 01, 2012 @ 21:52:49

    Prayers indeed.

  3. Ian
    Jul 30, 2012 @ 11:14:44

    Prayers for you dear Athanasia, and you dear Elizabeth also. Thank you for sharing.

  4. Elizabeth @ The Garden Window
    Jul 29, 2012 @ 13:52:25

    As a result of not being able to stand or walk for any length of time from my initial surgery in March to the fourth surgery at the beginning of July, I have gained a whole stone. My food intake or type of food has not changed, only the fact that I have not been walking for my normal 3 – 5 miles each and every day. Over the last week, I have been able to start walking again and get up to about 1-5 miles a day, which is making me happy. I really do need to lose that stone of excess weight, as I feel the pain in my ankles, knees and hips. We can do it 🙂

