Home Ec Lesson

A friend across the country is taking sewing lessons.  She queried her on-line friends for feedback about their sewing experience, which got me to thinking what I learned in Home Economics, a class which is no longer offered to students.  I consider this one of the more sorrowful aspects of our education system because the parents sure aren’t teaching their children how to do laundry, fold sheets, cook, and other sundry home care taking responsibilities.

One of the most valuable lessons I learned in Home Ec was how to fold sheets.  Family and friends have asked me to show them how I do it.  My style keeps the linen closet tidy and all the matching sheet sets together so when I reach in for a fresh set of sheets, all the components are together in one bundle.

Others like my system so well, I thought I would share it with you.  Perhaps others of you use the same process?

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 1:  Folding the flat sheet

  1. Match the top edge and the bottom edge of the sheet.  Smooth out wrinkles and creases.
  2. Holding the folded edge, match the side edge to side edge, folding the sheet in half length-wise.
  3. Fold again as a above.  Basically you are folding the flat sheet in half and then half again.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 2:  Folding the fitted bottom sheet (the tricky part)

  1. Holding the bottom right corner in your right hand, bring it up to the top right corner and tuck it inside the corner.
  2. Repeat the above step with the bottom left corner
  3. Finished product results in the bottom fitted sheet folded in half with the bottom corners tucked inside their matching top corners (See below photo)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Step 3:  Tuck all the corners together.

Take the right corners which are now tucked together and match them to the left corners.

Tuck the right corners into the left corners resulting in a fitted bottom sheet that has been folded into fourths with all the corners tucked neatly into one another.

Fold the fitted sheet into thirds so it will fit on top of the flat sheet.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

(Above photo:  This is what the completed process should look like.)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fold the bottom fitted sheet into thirds.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This way it will fit neatly on top of the folded flat sheet with nothing hanging over the sides.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fold the pillow cases in half length wise and lay them on top of the fitted sheet.  Now you have a nice, neat stack of flat, fitted, pillow case sheets all together.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Fold one third in and then again finishing with a nice, neat package!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Voila!

Now when you need to pull a fresh set of sheets out of your cupboard, you can pull out ALL the pieces to the set!

 

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mimi
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 22:54:04

    Oh, and yes, I agree about the lack of Home Ec classes. Actually, I should be honest, the middle school I attended required Home Ec for all in 7th grade, and art in 8th grade. However, I started the middle school (it was new) in 8th grade, so missed it.

  2. Mimi
    Aug 27, 2012 @ 22:53:09

    I stuff mine into the pillowcase.
    However, this is very cool. Thank you!
    I’m greatly enjoying my sewing class.

  3. Elizabeth @ The Garden Window
    Aug 21, 2012 @ 10:09:04

    We were never taught anything useful like that at our school Home Ec classes.
    I can’t wait to try it out and tidy up my poor airing cupbaord 🙂

  4. Mrs. Mutton
    Aug 17, 2012 @ 13:51:11

    That’s pretty much how I fold my sheets, too, except I never thought of folding them together into one tidy package. *Much* better idea. I too deplore the lack of Home Ec in schools, especially when you consider how much *more* such a course could teach than sewing and cooking – budgeting both time and money, basic household bookkeeping, scheduling routine home maintenance (“*When* was the last time I cleaned out those gutters???”), filing important papers and appliance warranties – these are just a few of the things that come to mind. Household management needs to be undertaken with thought and care, and nobody realizes that anymore.

  5. Trackback: Orthodox Collective
