Tevi’s visit to the library

The last months’ worth of reading has been the Sword of Truth series by Terry Goodkind. Each book is fairly long and dense with content.  Rather than taking out two books at a time, I have been borrowing them from the library one at a time.  As I get close to the end of one, I log into my library account and place a hold on the next book in the series.  Sometimes it is an inter-library loan, so when it arrives at the local library’s front desk, they give me a call and I rush off to pick it up.

The most recent trip was this past Thursday.  It was a normal work day for me.  Those days Tevi spends the morning home alone, closed in the office with her plush cushion, water bowl and squeaky snake.

It was a beautiful day, so when the librarian called I decided to take Tevi for a ride in the car.  After having been confined all morning, I didn’t want to do so again.  When we take her in the car, we have a special harness that we slip the seat belt through so she is secured in the seat and not free to roam.  It keeps us both safe!  So she was belted in on the passenger side of the car.

I parked in the 15 minute parking slot across from the front of the library door.  I kept the windows down to prevent the car from heating up during my quick run into the building.  As I left the car, I gave Tevi the command, “Stay. Watch the car.”, and off I trotted through the automatic doors.

After completing the book loan transaction and saying thank you to the librarian, I heard a woman off to my side say, “Well, look at that!”  As I turned wondering what was causing the kerfluffle, what do I see but Tevi trotting through the automatic sliding doors into the library and coming towards the counter!  I did a double take!  Was that really her?  Seeing her in an out-of-context situation, I wasn’t sure.  But staring some more, I saw the top half of the brown harness around her neck dragging along the ground.  OMG! I called her name, “Tevi!” and she came bouncing right too me with her ears all perky, happy to see me!  “Hi mom!  Whatcha doin?! I missed you!” written all over her face.

I heard behind me, “We’ve never had that kind of visitor in the library before!”  Groan…..can you spell e-m-b-a-r-a-s-s-e-d?!  Good grief!

I grabbed her collar and started towards the door while she happily trotted out the door with me, all the while listening ignoring my incredulous chatter, “What do you think you are doing!?  Didn’t I tell you to stay in the car?!  You could have gotten hit by a car!”

Imagining she got out of the car by breaking the seat belt and wondering where the other half of the harness had gotten to, I opened the door to find the seat belt intact.  Huh?!  But no half of a harness.  I opened the passenger side door and ushered her into the car wondering how I was going to secure her for the ride home.  As I walked around to the driver’s side, there was the other half of the harness, laying in the parking space next to the car.

I still can’t figure out how she got out of the harness, especially not popping the seat belt.  The harness snap must not have been clipped securely, so when she tugged it snapped free and she jumped out of the window looking for me.  Thank goodness she didn’t run away or get hit by a car!

Note to self:  double check that everything is snapped all the way and don’t leave the windows all the way down when I leave the car if the dog is in it (which is rare, but still…..)

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Orthodox Collective
