Coming home

How much of the world have I seen?  Enough but not enough. It’s one of those ‘both/and’ kind of answers.

Italy is the only European country I’ve visited.  Those stories are here and here.  I’ve traveled to many states in the U.S.  I’ve been to Canada a couple of times.  That’s about it.

There are a few places I’d really like to visit.  England, definitely.  Ireland, hmmm…yeah.  An Alaskan cruise…yup.  Further down the list, but not at the bottom: the Canadian Rockies, San Francisco.  But really…I’d rather stay home.

A lot of people don’t understand me when I tell them that.  “Oh, but the world is so big! And there is so much to see!” Well…yes that’s true, but I don’t like being away from home for too long. Trips like the ones above mean being away from home for a couple or more weeks.  I don’t think I could handle that.  Heck, I struggle packing my suitcase for a week long trip to the beach!

Why am I like this?  Who knows.  Maybe because of having an unstable home life when I was a tot.  We didn’t move but once when I was 10.  That was traumatic.  Going from city to suburb was quite a shocker.  Kids sure didn’t do things in the suburbs like they did in the city.  And school was very different.  But my brother and I adjusted after a time.  It was the troubles ‘inside’ the home that made life feel unstable.

Secondly, I’ve moved a lot since I was 20……probably a total of 13 times in 32 years.  I can pack moving boxes in my sleep.  That may have something to do with it to….I gotta pack that suitcase AGAIN!

The real reason is, I suspect, I’m just a homebody. I like being at home among the things that interest me; family, books, reading, needlework, friends, church, familiarity.  I like to explore the community around where I live.  There are many interesting sites.  There is a lot to see within a 2 hour drive of home which I also explore from time to time.

Despite my statement “I’d rather stay home,” I venture with The Hubster on trips and we have a grand time.  It’s just….I really like coming home, which is a nice feeling to have.

2 thoughts on “Coming home

  1. “East is East, and West is West,” and I’m sure you know all the rest. 😉 You are so right – Home is a gift.

Comments are closed.