348.9

That’s how many miles I traveled in a 24 hours period and it wasn’t vacation miles!

Sunday evening I attended the Distinguished Diocesan Benefactor’s Appreciation Dinner at a parish 2 hours north of my home. It was a lovely event where I had a chance to catch up with a friend and greet Vladyka Michael. The DDB Fund is an annual fund drive in which monies are used to support ailing parishes, support a seminarian or support a mission parish. You can read about it here.  I’ve been privileged to participate in 2011 and 2012.  The evening was a long one and I arrived home at 10:40 p.m. in time to fall into bed alongside the Hubster and mumble ‘g’night’.

The next day, Monday, saw me up and out the door at 9:30 a.m. to pick up a friend who is undergoing chemo and radiation treatment.  Due to the location of the small tumor, she is unable to sit for any significant length of time, thus requiring her to recline on her side – Roman style.  This is an impossible position in which to drive!  So I volunteered to take her Monday and Friday of this week.  The hospital is located an hour from her home.  She goes there for treatment because it is the place of her husband’s employ and treatments are free.  This is what that round trip looks like:

  • 30 minutes drive: north to her house to pick her up
  • 60 minutes drive: south to the hospital (yes, I drive right past my own house!)
  • 30 minutes for the treatment
  • 60 minutes drive: north to her house
  • 30 minutes drive: south to my house

Makes for a lot of repeat scenery, but hey…we have had some great conversations!  And it is a blessing to me to be able to help her out this way, so the miles are really nothing at all.

If you’ve a mind, pray for the healing of the handmaid of God TS.

3 thoughts on “348.9

Comments are closed.