Buh Bye FB

The plug has been pulled.  The account has been deactivated and request sent in for it to be entirely removed.  My Facebook account is gone. Buh bye. Kissy, kissy.  Tata and all that.

I’ve been thinking about it for some time.  Conversations this weekend sealed the deal.  If I’m hiding so many status updates for various reasons, then what’s the point?  Am I really staying in touch with everyone I’ve friended?  Not really.  Face it – I read their status update, click ‘like’ and move on to the next one. I don’t engage in significant dialogue. Basically I do a drive by and that’s not what I want to do with people that I care about.  I want to make an effort to stay in touch with those who are important to me.  Letters, phone calls, emails, cards and things like that are on-deck.  I’ll save instant gratification for ice cream and chocolate, not people.

Are you on Facebook?  Have you thought about ‘signing off’?

 

2 thoughts on “Buh Bye FB

  1. Thanks Deb. What did me in was how many ‘friends’ status updates I was hiding because I was sick and tired of the political hype and bashing. How ‘connected’ is that? It’s been a couple days and so far I don’t miss it. I am, however, enjoying reading those blogs I used to frequent prior to FB.

    Glad you stopped by! How’s the grandbaby?

  2. Good for you! I left FB 2-3years ago for some of the same reasons you state. Occasionally I wish I was back on, but mostly I don’t see the point of it all.

Comments are closed.