“Experiments” Success!

You will recall, Dear Reader, my blog post about experiments I was conducting – making Lavender Essential Oil and Citrus Vinegar cleaner.  Read it here.   Two weeks have gone by and here are the results.

Lavender Essential Oil

Lavender Oil

I used canola oil as the carrier for the lavender.  The first run of essential oil had a mild scent of lavender scent.  I made the mistake of using a paper towel to filter out the lavender buds which did not hold up to the necessary squeezing to extract the oil from the buds.

Using the same filtered oil, I dumped in 4 more tablespoons (~60 ml) of lavender and let it sit on the window sill for 2 more not-so-sunny days.  Afterwards, I used scrap muslin to pour the oil through which allowed me to squeeze the buds, extracting as much oil as possible.

Results were satisfactory.  I wasn’t sure how pungent to expect the lavender oil to be.  It definitely has a moderate to moderately strong scent of lavender.  As you can see by the photo, I got a decent amount of oil out of the process – probably 2-3 ounces (~59 ml).

Citrus Vinegar Cleaner

IMG_0681This experiment was a great success!  As you can see, the vinegar took on the yellow (thereby lemon oils) of the lemons.  It smells absolutely wonderful!  I will not use it full strength, but will mix it 50/50 with water and put it in a spray bottle.  The remainder I will store in a cool dark place for future use.

Today is laundry day and I may throw a little of it in the laundry to see if it gives the clothes a fresh citrus scent.

Any new and exciting things happening in your neck of the woods, Dear Reader?

One thought on ““Experiments” Success!

  1. Ah-hah – well, that’s what I get for not having read all your posts first (see comment on your post two weeks ago). But I still want to know how the lemon-scented vinegar worked in your laundry.

    As for exciting things happening in this neck of the woods – all I can think of is the last few years of my mother’s life, when she had absolutely nothing to talk about except church and family. I am So There, even with the needlework I do (and like you, I don’t like having too many irons in the fire). But I’m at a point in life where I appreciate boredom – I don’t see it as necessarily a good thing when life gets too Interesting!

Comments are closed.